The Geer Family
 
I am long overdue for a post so I have  a couple to catch up on.  Chris had his 1 month well visit on Tuesday May 25th.  He was 1 month and 3 days old.  Everything was great!  He weighed a whopping 9lbs, 7.5 ounces (up 2 lbs, 6.5 ounces from birth), he was 22 1/4 inches long and his head circumference was 37cm.  They told me the percentiles but I can't remember that stuff.  Next time I'll have to right it all down.  I had a huge list of questions for Dr. Davis.  Those I did write down because I didn't want to forget any of them.  They ranged from "how long can I let him nurse on each side?" to "make the baby acne go away!" to "how long do you suggest I let him'cry it out' before I go check on him?"  I felt much better after getting all of the answers because I don't think they were far off from my own instincts.  Chris does have an umbilical hernia which makes his belly button stick out, especially when he is crying.  Dr. Davis assured me this can be a common thing in newborns and it usually goes away when they begin to crawl & walk through the development and strengthening of his stomach muscles.  We still don't like it.  After meeting with Dr. Davis the nurse came in to give Chris his second dose of the hepatitis shot.  He had the first dose in the hospital in the nursery so I didn't have to witness it.  He had his heel pricked several times when he had the jaundice and he did okay with that.  I had tried to prepare myself as best I could for the dreaded shot and I told myself that I wasn't going to look at him.  The nurse had me hold his arms down over his head while she stuck him in the thigh.  I myself could care less about getting a shot or needles or any of that.  It has never bothered me.  HOWEVER, I could never prepare myself enough for the look on my baby's face when he got that shot.  It was a delayed reaction of course so I looked down at him and he was looking right at me like "mommy, how could you let that mean lady do that?"  Then the flood gates opened, for both of us!  The nurse must be so accustomed to it that she didn't even acknowledge that either one of us was crying and she said, "all done!"  She left the room, I got myself together and we were out of there....

That is one thing I am NOT looking forward to in the next several years of doctor visits!
carrie
6/7/2010 09:42:15 am

the shots get sooooo much easier! I cried at Cal'd first ones and now it's just cute to see his face. He looks at me in shock that I would actually let someone do that to him, and then he screams out until I pick him up. As soon as I hold him, he's done! I promise-- they DO get easier (at least on momma!)

Reply



Leave a Reply.