The Geer Family
 
Wow...6 months has come and gone so fast.  I just can't believe it.  We took Deuce to see Dr. Davis for his 6 month well visit on Monday.  He is a tall, skinny fella with a little head.  He weighed 14lbs12oz (10th percentile...yikes!) was 26.5 inches long (55th percentile) and his head circumference is 42.5cm (18th percentile). 

Sooooo, it turns out that I have to start supplementing with formula because my milk production has drastically slowed down since I returned to work.  Even with the pumping every 2 hours, I am not producing enough for him (hence, the low weight).  Dr. Davis assured us he is not malnourished or anything (he also has rice cereal twice a day, fruits and vegetables with every bottle AND juice) but it made me feel bad.  Dr. Davis told me that I had done a great job exculsively breastfeeding for the first 6 months and that the first 4 months are the most important months for nursing when it comes to brain development, etc.

I was only pumping enough to feed him 4oz bottles but at 6 months he should be drinking 6-8oz per bottle.  So I will continue to pump so he has some breastmilk in his bottles and then top off the rest of it with formula.  I have not nursed him since Sunday (5 days).  I was a little worried that not nursing him before bed would hinder his newfound sleeping habits but it hasn't.  He holds his own bottles now when we prop him up on the couch or in his seat and he's good to go.  So we can all eat dinner at the same time.  Then his belly is full and he likes to play with his daddy for awhile or have his bath.  Then when it's time to hit the sack, he goes down with ease and talks to himself for about 5 minutes before he zonks out. 

I love this little dude so much and love being his momma!!!



Leave a Reply.